Search

Hi all, I'm very new to Symphony, I think I understand general concepts of this CMS. Maybe I have to study more but, really, I can't understand how members extension works. In particular I can't understand which events are triggered when a new member is created. They say "For registration or account editing you will use native Symphony events" what does it mean? Are Native symphony events a sort of built-in events? If so, where is located the code? How can I "connect" my registration form with this event?

Many thanks

Hello @miquik,

after you have created a section for storing the various data related to registered members (username, e-mail, …), you can rely on a standard Symphony event (Blueprints > Events > Create New) to handle the registration.

Once you have created an event which source corresponds to your members section, some code will be given to you to be used as a reference at the bottom of the event page. You just need to attach the just-created event to your registration page and implement the code provided as a reference in the front end.

As an alternative, you can rely on the really useful Members Forms by @michael-e: it will boost/simplify/help you integrating the Members extension into your Symphony website.

Ah, while setting up the Members extension and the related code/procedures in the front end, keep always an eye on The Big Picture: it’s really a useful resource to have a clear overview of what’s going on/needs to be done.

Are Native symphony events a sort of built-in events?

Have a look at Symphony Concepts to learn more about events in general.

The docs are a little outdated, events are now directly under Blueprints › Events instead of Blueprints › Components.

Also have a look at the Members Wiki for more in-depth examples and documentation.