Search

How to update an entry of a section (A) when another section (B) entries are updated ?

Maybe I can get the updates from section B with WebHooks extension but I have no idea how to update the section.

I'm still new in Symphony, there is probably a better way to do this ;)

Hi @tigo,

Would definitely help to understand your workflow - just in case there is a more straight forward way to approach it! What's your section setup?

I'm not personally sure how I'd achieve what you're after, but I'm also struggling to imagine a scenario where I'd need to, so if nothing else I'd be interested to see it :)

Hello @nathanhornby, i have a section Order Items with Price field and always after any changes ( add items, delete items, price changes of item in Order ) I want the sum of the prices of the items and save this result in the Price Total field in the section Orders.

Thanks for your attention!

//ps: my english is more or less, sorry :)

Amusingly I was going to suggest such a scenario as an example, except with stock levels :)

This is indeed an interesting dilemma. I can think of different ways to approach it, but nothing that doesn't change things significantly, like outputting orders in a frontend area where you have more room for applying logic to the data.

Someone more experienced than myself might have some ideas though, your issue is at least very clear.

I hope this will go a long way to helping.

It's the only source I know for this article, although I'm sure it was put on this site some time ago.

Hope it helps!

Events Tutorial

WebHooks + REST API solve it... but, at this moment, WebHooks don't works with Symphony 2.4. I fixed a little part but WebHooks needs to be remake from scratch.

Thanks @designermonkey, i will study your link.

REST API don't works too :(

Symphony Warning: simplexml_load_string() expects parameter 1 to be string, object given

148 public function sendOutput($xml) {
150 $dom = simplexml_load_string($xml);