Search

Hello I am new to Symphony and have some questions.

I have a site that its a car inventory. I need to have an option for each car=product if its sold or not and then show or not a sold banner in its main photo.

I have created a field in each product, actually a pair in technical details of each product. Its "available" and values "yes" or "no".

Is this the best way to do it? Any advices? If yes how will I check the values? I know this is an XSLT based cms but would need some help.

Regards Giorgos

In your template you can do this for example in your template match:

<xsl:if test="available = 'No'>
   <span>Sold</span>
</xsl:if>

Thanks for your answer plenaforma

Just like that? Thats easy to do.

Is the best way to do this check? I mean using a pair.

Is the best way to do this check? I mean using a pair.

What do you mean with pair? A selectbox with two values?

I'd go with a checkbox labelled "Available" with default checked enabled. That will output "Yes" in your datasource as long as the checkbox is checked and "No" in case it's not checked anymore.

Via Ajax Checkbox you can easily edit the status of your products in the entries tabel view.

I attach a screen shot of what I mean Roman. Thanks for suggesting this plugin. It seems it does the same job as the pair but a bit faster.

Same code for checking its value? It looks easier than I thought would be :)

Attachments:
available.png

My example was if you use a checkbox field

OK thought it was for a text field.

I attach a screen shot of what I mean Roman.

Ah... I see - you're using the Meta Keys extension. That's what you meant with "pairs".

Wouldn't use this for a simple Sold/Available-Status-Change as you have to add this field for each entry manually and then actually write "Yes" or "No". Meta Keys is fine for product-details that change may change from product to product, but for a status that every product needs the checkbox-field is the way to go!