Search

I often get asked why I love Symphony so much when I work on new projects.

I am a front end developer and often find myself having to argue for Symphony against the frameworks mentioned above. One of the main sticking points is that PHP developers I have come across prefer to work solely in PHP and see no need for XSLT. I often try to explain that the PHP is the logic that drives the System and that the XSLT allows me to use the data provided to me and thus transform to deliver in not only HTML but also RSS, XML, WML etc...

Additionally, XSLT is a functional programming language, and doesn't need to do the extra logic that PHP would need to. That middle ground is covered pretty much by Symphony itself.

After said argument, I find myself alone and sometimes find it hard to convince internal teams and sometimes clients. I recently had this issue and had to end up working with Drupal for a very large project. The developer argued his point well because he had prior experience and even said that something that looked as simple as Symphony could not deliver the kind of results required by a website with hundreds of pages and hundreds of thousands of visitors. The other frameworks also happen to have lots of thorough documentation and wide community support. I know we have a very dedicated and supporting community here, but i couldn't convince him that he had all he needed to extend Symphony. I explained that the beauty of Symphony is you don't need to hack it at all, you build upon it, to which I got "so does Druuupalll...".