Search

Hey guys, I’m a designer working hard to learn Symphony because it interests me. I’ve been working through Skyler’s tutorial and the Documentation pages so far and I’ve been able to do some simple things like pull from a data source.

But I’m struggling to understand the system, and I could really use another few tutorials to help me understand some of the concepts. Are you guys aware of other resources I could learn from?

As a sidenote question, I should be able to convert an old-school table layout website into a Symphony website, correct? As long as the markup is clean? Right now I’m running into an error that says “Found a top-level element table with null namespace URI”

Can you post your code on either gist.github.com or pastie.org, so we can take a look? Post both the XML and the XSLT.

Well, I think I’ve gotten past that one issue with “top level element table with null namespace URI”. I’m not worried about using tables anymore as I’ve gotten them to display.

I could still definitely use some more tutorials though. I understand the basic concepts of the system, but am having trouble writing my own XSLT and knowing where to place it.

I could still definitely use some more tutorials though.

Have you had a look at Stephen Bau’s excellent Building a Symphony Theme.

You can also watch the old screencasts at archive.overture21.com but be aware that some things are out of date as these screencasts refer to Symphony 1.7 and a lot of things changed with the release of Symphony 2.

For more advanced XSLT magic, have a look at Allen Chang’s Chaoticpattern.

I’m learning with you, and the biggest problem I had was understanding how to add more complex relationships (one-to-many, for example) between sections using data sources. I came from an MVC framework so I kept trying to compare it to models, which is half-true I guess.

In any case, Do you speak DS Editor v2? has helped me a lot so far