Search

The Learn section is as recent as it gets. Simply have a look at the regular generated events or extensions that are similar to what you’re trying to achieve. From there on simply var_dump() your way through the instances and classnames… :-)

Bumping this thread a bit since I'd really like to learn more about creating custom events.

I am still quite new to Symphony and I am not really a PHP programmer but I'm confident that I'll be able to pick up creating simple extension and (custom) events. However: at the moment some simple documentation related to creating custom events is missing.

In my case I am trying to add some simple extra validation to a form in the form of a honey-pot field. (I know there's probably an extension for this but I'd really like to be able to hack something simple like this together myself).

What I want to do is add a text-field to my form with a simple, human-readable, question (like "What is one plus one?"). This field is filled in, and hidden, with JS/CSS.

Because the field is not 'native' to Symphony I need to add the 'validation' to my event myself.

My guess is that I should either code the validation in the load() or __trigger() functions. But which one? Also: how should I code/setup validation errors (and messages). What should I return, etc. I have also seen the EventPreSaveFilter delegate which seems a candidate for my custom validation also.

Could someone help me along? It's probably a very simple thing but newcomers like me need just a little bit more info to start ;)

This may of been launched relatively unnoticed, but I wrote a field extension tutorial, that's a bit of a quick overview into the the ins and outs of creating a Field extension, written in the Meta Keys context.

I do have a Event tutorial in the works, which currently covers changing event priority and how to chain multiple events together.