Search

A long standing bug and pet peeve of mine in Symphony was that any “Author” user who knows how to change their password in Symphony can upgrade themselves to a “Developer” and wreak havoc on my precious XSLT work.

Now many of my clients would typically not shoot themselves in the foot like this, but I do have a few who might consider sabotage in some cases.

I posted a bug in the Issue Tracker and received very poor feedback on the issue. Seeing as this is one of the few issues I have with Symphony before I even consider it for high-profile websites I decided to do a patch myself.

Please have a look at Issue #4 and my related patch: User Access Permissions fix.

I’m still quite new to Git and GitHub so let me know if the patch doesn’t work for some reason. I created this thread just to make sure it gets recognition as I don’t know if a closed issue with a new comment will show up for anyone.

Has this annoyed anyone else?

Yeah, I think this is a good fix.

Thanks for putting this together.

I think the lack of access control has annoyed many of us, but the word is that there will be an extension to manage user access.

While not officially released by the developers, I asked for the Members extension and Alistair was kind enough to supply it. At the time, there were some patches needing to be pushed to the integration branch that prevented the release of the extension. With the release of 2.0.3, the extension seems to be in working order, but I haven’t fully tested it.

I’m just starting to put together a site that tests the functionality, and I’ve pushed the Members extension to GitHub for this purpose. This extension deals with access to front end pages and forms. You might want to take a look at it to see how it might be extended to include Authors and Developers for a more robust solution.