Search

There have been a lot of discussions about the Whats, Whys, and Hows of translating Symphony, so I decided to create a new thread in order to collect here every thought about it.

Note: I’m not that good at writing summaries, plus English is not my first language. If something is unclear, please tell me and I’ll try to explain myself better!

To translate or not to translate

As I already said a while ago, I strongly believe that we must choose which terms have to be translated against those that are already functional in their current English form.

Anyway, Nils correctly pointed out that:

This has been a long discussion last year, too. There is one problem: If you start discussing which strings should not be translated you’ll find arguments why each area of the system – one after the other – should not be translated. That’s why I think it should be up to the translators how they translate the system. It depends on the context of the respective language, if a translation suits well or if a string should be left in English. If you think “template” should not be translated, why shouldn’t we keep “data source”, too? What about “utility”? I think you know what I mean.

[…]

There are still some problems with untranslatable strings (mainly in the core extensions) and there is no agreement on how to handle “core terminology” (sections, field, data source, event). Which is quite important now that we have a documentation. Personally I think we should translate all parts of the system (core terminology, too)

Sorry, I’ve been very busy in the past few weeks so I had not time to reply. I see your point, but I don’t completely agree.

Ideally, each term belongs to one of the following categories:

• Terms whose meaning is inherited from other contexts and/or is obvious only in some cultures (e.g. “Blueprints”, “Ensemble”)
  • Terms whose meaning is obvious within the current context, whatever the language is (e.g. “template”, “query”, “database”);