Search

A new extension, “WMD Editor” is now available for download. Comments and feedback can be left here but if you discover any issues, please post it on the issue tracker.

I should mention that I’m not a hard-core developer. I created this extension (my first) from a branch of the WMD editor created by the Open Library.

It still needs a bit of work in the style department but as far as I can tell it’s stable in Safari and Firefox. I would love any assistance anyone can give to make sure this is 100% stable.

I know it works in 2.0.7 as that’s where I built and tested it. It should work in any version that has jQuery included.

Oh, and if anyone can help me figure out how to put this on GitHub I’ll gladly do it so others can help maintain it, branch it or whatever.

Oh, and if anyone can help me figure out how to put this on GitHub I’ll gladly do it so others can help maintain it, branch it or whatever.

I’m no expert, but roughly it goes like this:

1. Install Git
  2. Get a Github account
  3. Set up an SSH key (Mac, Windows, Linux)
  4. Configure your Git email settings
  5. Create your repo on Github. You’ll get instructions for pushing to it
  6. Go to your WMD extension’s directory and run git init
  7. Follow the rest of the instructions provided by Github (you’ll have to add your repo as a remote and then commit your changes and push to it)

Hope that’s somewhat helpful.

You just gotta love instructions written by someone who’s obviously a developer. Either I’m missing a dozen steps somewhere or GitHub’s help files are really bad.

What exactly are you having trouble with?

Well, here’s the stuff I think I’ve successfully done:

1. Create a GitHub account (had that already)
  2. Generate a public key
  3. Install Git
  4. Set up the extension in it’s own specific folder
  5. Created the repository on GitHub

Now I just need to figure out how to make that folder a local repository (yes?) and then push it to Github.com.