Search

I have created a very simple extension that allows for URL re-routing using regex. You could use it for vanity URLs (for email marketing or linking from another site) or any other purpose.

As it is my first extension and I am a beginner, it is at present using an array for URL mapping that is held in manifest/config.php and that has to be edited by hand at the moment.

I would be curious to know if the developers (and users) here think it would be worth trying to have a proper admin interface for this in the CMS and persist the data to the DB. Frankly, I don’t know how to do this yet and it struck me that the less DB access the better really, and it works just fine as it is.

Any thoughts?

Sweet! If it’s more for developers than anyone else, an array config would be sufficient. You can create a UI for modifying config.php values quite easily by adding an option to the Preferences page (see one of the core extensions such as Maintenance Mode.

Alistair wrote a URL Schema Manipulator extension which sounds similar. Not sure if anyone has used it other than him though!

This extension sounds cool. One of my biggest headaches has been getting a URL structure like this:

/users/:username/posts

Since Symphony always requires the parameters to be at the end of the URL. Hopefully this extension would allow me to write a rule to map the above URL onto a Page with the URL:

/users/posts/:username

I’ve always had to hack the .htaccess rules to do this…

I’ll have a look at the maintenance mode extension Nick, It’d be nice for it to have a proper interface of some sort.

As for your URL problem, I would have thought that could be handled.

Since Symphony always requires the parameters to be at the end of the URL.

Symphony should allow that URL structure. Any possibility to implement that in next versions? It would be great to have a URL like:

/posts/hello-world/comments/10