Search

I added the submodule from the root directory of the symphony installation. I added the submodule so when I ran update it would track. I don’t think I added it as a submodule of itself.

@czheng, as you can tell i’m a newbie at Git. Please let me know if I’m adding submodules incorrectly. Thanks so much for your patience and help.

OK. I think I got it.

@czheng, I think you are right that I created a submodule within a submodule. Instead of cloning a submodule and then adding a submodule, all I needed to do was just add the submodule.

What I did is that I removed my submodule, I first tried git rm --cached extensions/xmlimporter, but it wouldn’t let me remove and gave me an error message that I needed to use the rm recursively with a -r. So that tipped me off that I must have created a submodule within a submodule (like czheng mentioned above).

So I ran git rm -r --cached extensions/xmlimporter and it removed the xmlimporter submodule. Then I added a the xmlimporter extension back the right way, I made sure that I was in my root directory of my symphony site and ran the following command to add the xmlimporter extension as a submodule.

git submodule add git://github.com/rowan-lewis/xmlimporter.git extensions/xmlimporter

Then changed directory into my xmlimporter extension directory and checked out the unstable branch for XML Importer… cd extensions/xmlimporter and ran git checkout -b unstable

Then I ran git status to see what branch I was on, it said unstable. So then I needed to pull in my changes (pull the unstable branch)… NOTE: I’m still inside my xmlimporter directory and then I run…

git pull git://github.com/rowan-lewis/xmlimporter.git unstable

and it output the following…

From git://github.com/rowan-lewis/xmlimporter
 * branch            unstable   -> FETCH_HEAD
Updating aa707ea..737d1c1
Fast forward
 content/content.importers.php |    8 +----
 extension.driver.php          |    4 +-