Search

I ran czheng’s commands and got no errors.

Yeah there’s been some confusion over the change in repos. It’s in the README, but still we’re going to have this problem for a while I’d guess. Need to make sure both repos are up to date…

I followed the tutorial.

http://getsymphony.com/learn/tutorials/view/install-symphony/3/

I think its prevents confusion if the official site has a tutorial that is current, not everyone is up to speed with everyone else, and use the Tutorials as the guide for dummys if you like.

But no problem, I know you guys are doing a lot of good stuff, and it’s appreciated. :)

Ok success.

Because I am new at a certain aspect - such as git, I tend to follow tutorials to save me confusion, but nevermind, I’m up to speed now.

such as git, I tend to follow tutorials to save me confusion

You should start looking at the messages the system is providing you with too.

destination directory 'html' already exists., You need to run this command from the toplevel of the working tree. and fatal: Not a git repository are all pretty self-explanatory, don’t you think?

Tutorial updated.

Well I did do. I cd into html and did that.

It was because the repo was different, its my mistake - but when your new at something you tend to put quite a lot of stock in an official tutorial.

Trying Bauhouse’s workflow and I’m a little confused.

I’m creating the local repository here:

cd /path/to/local/directory
git init
git add .
git commit -m "Initialize repository"
git remote add origin ssh://username@example.com/path/to/private/directory/git/repository_name.git
git push origin master

the “Initialise repository” part, do I type that word for word or am I being totally dumb there? It’s just I did that, obviously changing the path names, and I get this error:

fatal: '/domains/systems.nicktoye.co.uk/git/symphony_2.git': unable to chdir or not a git archive
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly

Does the dir really have a .git in its name?