Search

Hi, I’m new to Symphony and XSLT. I’ve been playing with Symphony for a couple of days now, and I’m wondering if I can have XSLT automatically generate a list of footnotes at the bottom of a page.

I tried using a element in the XSL file of the page, like so:

<p>
    Some text here.
    <footnote>Hello world, I am a footnote.</footnote>
</p>

Then I put this in the appropriate spot of my master XSL template:

<xsl:apply-templates select="//footnote" mode="footnote">

At the bottom, I put a corresponding template that matched “//footnote”.

The problem appears to be that, because the element is in the XSL file and not in the source XML, it’s not being matched. Is this correct? If so, am I going about this completely the wrong way?

Can you show us an example of your XML output and your XSL template?

the element is in the XSL file and not in the source XML, it’s not being matched. Is this correct?

That sounds about right.

You would need to add the footnotes into one of your data sources for the page, and you would then be able to reference them with XPATH like you have tried to do.

Alternatively, if your footnotes are static, you can just put the markup in the footer in the first place.

The page itself is static; all of its content at the moment is in the XSL template: http://pastie.org/948728

And this is the global template: http://pastie.org/948727

You would need to add the footnotes into one of your data sources for the page, and you would then be able to reference them with XPATH like you have tried to do.

I would like to generate the list of footnotes dynamically, even though the page itself is static, since it would be a headache to have to adjust every footnote each time I removed or added one.

Since the page content isn’t being pulled from a data source, however, how do I add the footnotes in the XSL template to a data source?