Search

So I am new to Symphony, and gradually understanding it more. I am currently working on a section of my site where I am somewhat spinning my wheels on figuring out the best way to develop it.

There are two parts to the section: 1) the “bandlisting” (left) that shows all of my entries, and 2) the “bandinfo” (right) that will have information and tracks I recommend.

My dilemma is trying to identify an efficient way to make the “bandlisting” hyperlinks update the “bandinfo”. In addition, I was hoping to put a pagination within the “bandlisting” section (if that is even possible).

I know symphony currently has the Step 4. Create an Individual Entry View tutorial and I was going to try and use that to develop this section, but I wasn’t sure if adding in the pagination was going to throw a wrench in that idea. Before exhausting myself trying to get everything to work, I wanted to run this by you guys. Thanks in advance!!!

alt text

Option 1: AJAX.
Use jQuery (or whatever library tickles your fancy) and pull in the content from entry pages with the glory that is AJAX.

Option 2: CSS.
Use CSS to select the individual elements already on the page and position them so they can be seen (bit more difficult, works best if they’re all the exact same height). All entries are on the page as default.

Option 3: jQuery tabbed-interface.
Use jQuery to do option 2 for you with some added sexy animations.

Ajax is definitely the best option here in my opinion, it gives the ability to call content dynamically (in the same page), and leave all of the links useable for non JavaScript users (opening a new page), whereas using CSS to hide/display content with JQuery panels etc (on the same page), would break any design based on your image above when a non JavaScript user visits it.

Hey guys, thanks a lot! I think I better getting cracking at learning AJAX - web development is no joke! I really appreciate your input!