Search

Personally, as a novice extension maker, I’d love for there to be a “best practice” and a guide to how best to do extensions in Symphony. One of the reasons I haven’t really tried making my own extensions a lot is because I’m rather new at PHP anyway so having to learn Symphony’s architecture, PHP and figuring out where it all should go is rather confusing.

Because of the way most extensions are stored on GitHub, we always have to manually rename the folder when downloaded. I can’t count the times I’ve seen someone reporting on this forum that they can’t activate an extension, and the answer being to rename the folder. It’s a bad way of coding doing it this way.

Agreed. This could also be solved by using a installer for extensions. (choose the zip file and everything gets taken care of, for the starting user?) It’s the installing part that gives problems, not the naming scheme (in my eyes).

Nice to hear a lot of different views on this!

Speaking of extension best practices, does anyone have any thoughts on addressing name collisions, anything that might need to be in the core? I know its not really an issue yet, but hopefully someday soon it will be. If it could mesh with the eventual use of native PHP namespaces, all the better.

I’m not a really big fan of namespaces (yet ;)).

In my experience, they usually do more harm than good (let alone if they are misused). I do feel we should have a stricter seperation of core classes and custom classes. (something like the zend framework, but less extreme?)

How would you use the namespaces in symohony’s case?

does anyone have any thoughts on addressing name collisions, anything that might need to be in the core?

Options:

1. Simply have a table available with all current and active extension class names in the API docs. This could be updated whenever a new extension is submitted.