Search

Hi Guys,

While looking into Symphony I met quite a few people from the ‘XML/XLS-sucks’ camp. I am a front-end developer and am not really opinionated on this (although I do ‘believe’ HTML5 > XHTML(2)).

Anyway, the main reason for this discussion is a post on Programmable Web that implies Twitter is moving away from its XML API altogether, favouring JSON. This indeed seems to be a trend: JSON over XML (and I do see why…).

There’s currently a strong interest in simple JSON API’s and Javascript webapps (+ node.js etc.) and I think this will only grow stronger. What do you think are the ramifications for Symphony CMS?

Practically: will that ‘selling point’ of Symphony (“It’s XML! Easily integrate with existing API’s”) become less relevant and maybe even counter-effective? Will people think of XML/XSL as ‘archaïc technology’ and disregard Symphony because of this?

Again, I have too little understanding of the issues to be able to properly asses them but I am interested to hear what the Symphony community thinks.

Here’s my experience and thinking:

1. JSON is smaller, and lighter than XML. But it’s not as strict, and at present you’ll find just about every implementation of JSON is slightly screwed in some fashion. It’s usable, but you’ll spend more than half your time battling inappropriate MIME types and malformed structures;
  2. XML’s been the de-facto standard for encapsulated data transfer for years. It’s not going anywhere, and it’s reliable.