Search

Hi Symphonians,

Saw this article and thought it may be of use to someone. I am primarily a UI developer so I am sure it may have it's use some way down the line http://ajaxian.com/archives/browser-detection-with-xslt. To quote from the origianal linked article :

"To clarify, a positive CC selection will allow only the IE’s specified to read the CSS, and a negative CC will exclude them from seeing it. The best, you don’t need anymore to include Microsoft proprietary CC’s for selecting CSS in your HTML!"

This could potentially eliminate the current polava we have to go through when adding stylesheets for IE. Maybe even passing variables for javascript through pages etc...

This is interesting, thanks Fazal. However at first glance it looks like this is for client-side XSL transformations (using the browser's XSLT engine), whereas Symphony does it XSL transformations on the server side (using LibXSLT/PHP).

I think we may be stuck with conditional comments and JavaScript object detection for some time! ;-)

at least you could use conditional comment classes to avoid seperate stylesheets for IE

Hey!

I created an extension that gets the browser info.

Check it out

NIce work degro :)

Where did this extension go ? :(

@into: some time ago I wrote a PHP client sniffer script to easily detect users' browser and OS, by parsing the UA string. You might want to check it out (it's far from being perfect, anyway): https://github.com/eKoeS/php-clientsniffer

Where did this extension go ? :(

I'd like to know also. :(

I made a comment on this thread but will copy it here to for those of you who are interested.