Search

Hi, I am a complete newbie with Symphony but I love it and am trying to build my first site with it. Please, help me solve the following situation, at least point me in the right direction.

The back-end problem:

I have created a section called "Continents" and a section called "Nations". The "Nations" section has a select box link to "Continents".

I also have a section called "Photographs". It serves to upload photographs and to link each photograph to a nation (and respectively a continent).

Now, in the "Photographs" section I tried adding two select box link fields - one to link with "Continents" and the other one - with "Nations", but since I can't get the "linking" between these two SBL fields, I decided to add a reflection field in the "Nations" section. So now in the "Photographs" section there is a select box that is populated dynamically with the values of the reflection field in the "Nations" section (values output something like Africa: Etiopia, Africa: Sudan, Asia: India...).

I thought that this setup can work, but now I have doubts because of what I want to do in the fron-end. ->

The connection:

I have three data sources: - continents - nations - I added filtering by continent {$continent} - photographs

The front-end problem:

I have created a page called Photographs and attached all three data sources to it (maybe if the back-end issue is resolved, only the photographs data source will be necessary?), also added the continent parameter.

On the page there is a front-end form that serves to filter entries from the "Photographs" section. The form should have two select fields, and the second one should be filtered further depending on the selected value in the first field.

Is this somehow possible by passing the {$continent} parameter into the url right upon a selection in the first select field? What approach would you suggest?