Search

I’ve been proposed to design a database website for collecting creative-commons licensed sounds recorded in Venice. The project intrigues me, but at the very same time I don’t want to get in a jam promising things I’d not be able to handle – I’m mainly a front end web designer.

Thanks to the Map Location Field v3 I’ve succeeded in laying out each sound in a Google Map (it’s a 1 day experiment), but I’m worried about the creation of the XML page which collects all the markers/sounds positions to be displayed in the map, since the number of those entries could become quite big in the future and such a XML page has to render them all in one go: what issues could I head for?

Beside this, is Symphony the right tool for building and managing such a database of sounds? I’m a huge supporter of Symphony, but I’m also aware of the fact it’s the only CMS/framework I’ve ever used (apart from Joomla!), so I’m not able to compare it to other solutions and evaluate if it’s the proper tool for such a task.

I would really appreciate to hear any advice or direction, thanks!

How many markers do you expect, worst case?

Two things come to mind:

• (easiest) make sure you cache somehow the resulting xml (you can create a dynamic ds which pulls directly from your page).
  • (hardest) if we're talking about a lot of markers, you should take in serious consideration a library to cluster them. I've used MarkerCluster in the past and works quite well.

As the others have said, Symphony is a great choice for this. Outputting many markers shouldn't be a problem — the XML might get large but worst case you can rewrite a Symphony data source using straight SQL to the database and it'll be a lot faster — that'll be a fix if things get out of control. Caching will help.