Search

Thank you Kamwing and Gunglien. I installed the Backend Language Switcher but it doesn't seem to make any difference. I think that I'm missing something.

It's my first project with Symphony 2.3 and it has changed quite a bit.

Anyway I would like the interface in English and the content in Italian, is it still possible?

And what is the purpose of the Main language and Reference language options then?

Thank you!

Ah; there was a change somewhere in 2.3 doesn't exactly work that way... I figured out that in order to have your preference language 'Italian' you would require the Symphony back-end to be translated - so you would need Language Italian to be installed.

After that its an author preference thing or just using the backend language switcher. (If you don't know italian) I would navigate using the standard english interface then just click on the italian flag, all the interface and Multilingual Field will then appear in italian (section names/field stay in main language)

@iltrico We faced both bugs too, I still haven't found what is causing the wrong pre selected tab problem, but I think I've sorted the entries table one. A possible solution can be found in this issue.

@gunglien I see. I was wondering because I also have a problem with the Multilingual Text Box that might be related:

even if I select the option to use the value of the main language when the selected language is empty, it doesn’t seem to have any effect. So those options in the extension preference don’t work anymore?

@alpacaa For the time being I solved the issue by downloading the old “Italian translation plugin” and removing all the values in the dictionary… a little hacky but it works :-)

I’m sorry for all the questions but I’m quite confused right now.

Thank you!

What's the cleanest way to hide the 'Translations' section? I'll be looking to use the 'Multilingual text box' field for input so would rather not confuse the client with the extra menu item that won't be used.