Search

Hello, I am new to Symphony and for the last few days I have been playing around with the default Ensemble, but now I am trying another one, called Symphony no. 5.

http://firegoby.github.com/symphonyno5/

Is anyone here affiliated with it? I like the fact that the creator bases its design on modern HTML5 standards and uses LESS.

I would like to hear how others feel about it.

Sounds cool! Look forward to trying it out.

Hi there, I'm Chris, the creator of Symphony No.5 - Many thanks for your comments.

I made it to act as a common base for all my new Symphony projects, a clean slate with some boilerplate code already done so I could 'clone and go' (hence it keeps getting updated as I learn more about Symphony!). I guess you could say it's a bit like Opinionated Symphony in that it presupposes one will be using certain additional tools, at the moment: git, HTML5, LESS, Coffeescript and Bootstrap - and wanting to do things like minify/concatenate JS for production.

A petty example for the next update: I'm going to merge the css/ and less/ directories into a single styles/ folder and change js/ to scripts/ - not only will it eliminate a directory but it makes the naming more accurate, I (we) are no longer just writing plain CSS and javascript so why hold on to the legacy of format labelled dirs? (Like on the frontend we moved away from index.html to /)

I see it being quite different from the Default Ensemble (which I see more as a demonstration & learning aid rather than the base for new projects, could totally be wrong on this, more experienced Symphonists will know more)

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions or ideas for the project I would love to hear them and thanks again for checking it out

Very cool stuff firegoby.

I am new to Symphony and your ensamble is definitely a departure from the starters kit, so the learning curve is pretty high for me, especially since I am accustomed to Drupal and Wordpress.