Search

Planning to hosting Symphony CMS on Heroku cloud hosting and find it has ClearDB as an addon, does anyone has experience how to host it?

I have no experience with it, but it says it's a drop-in replacement for MySQL so maybe no special configuration will be required.

I see, I wonder how will XSLT work with this hosting too. Could Symphony CMS make use of Java XSLT libraries?

Won't XSLT be done through the XSLT PHP library as usual? You'll need to make sure Heroku has that enabled I suppose.

I guess Apache web server is not use in the cloud hosting so could be idea to see Symphony CMS does not relied solely on Apache web server.

I honestly suggest using a hosting provider that supports the things that Symphony requires: PHP, MySQL and libxml/libxslt. Choose the platform that matches your chosen software.

I agree with Nick. Even if it is possible to use Symphony with other webservers (like Hiawatha and nginx), there is just a whole lot less expertise running Symphony on these platforms.

Which means you will be less likely to be able to get help if something fails.

Also, I just checked out heroku, and it doesn't seem like they support PHP, which is what Symphony was built on. So even if java xslt works, Symphony itself won't.

According to some sites/articles, Heroku started running PHP a while back, though I haven't found it on their site. Whether or not they have it configured to use libxml/libxslt is another thing. I'd be interested to know if you try, @proby2.

Even if it is possible to use Symphony with other webservers (like Hiawatha and nginx), there is just a whole lot less expertise running Symphony on these platforms.