Search

Hi All,

I am new to symphony and so far I am really loving the experience of building an ensemble. However, I am stuck with a problem now. Following is what I am trying to achieve:

Artists Page

• Artist One
  • -- Image 1
  • -- Image 2
  • -- Image 3
  • ---- see all for artist one
  • Artist Two
  • -- Image 1
  • -- Image 2
  • -- Image 3
  • ---- see all for artist two

... and so on...

So basically I am trying to create a page which shows list of artists with their 3 items and then selecting see all will go to a page dedicated to the artist.

What I did was :

1. Created a Section for Images and another section for Artists
  2. Linked the Images to Artists with a 'select box link'
  3. Created Data sources for both
  4. Add both data sources to page
  5. Filtered Images data source with "{ds-artists}"

This will worked correctly, it fetches the images for artists. Problem is pagination. Every artist can have many images, I want to just show 3 for each artist in the 'artists' page and then show a paginated list of images for artist's dedicated page (12 images in one dedicated page).

How best to achieve this? When I set pagination in Images Datasource to include 3 images, it outputs only 3 images (for the first artist), however, if first artist has 2 images only, then it includes one image from the second artist. In short it is fetching total 3 images whereas I want 3 for each (filtered by the artists which are present on the page)

note - the artists page itself will include paginated list of artists.

As far as I'm aware, the standard datasource does not limit on a per-group basis...

I'd suggest that you limit to 3 images using XSLT. Assuming you grouped by artist your xPath for the image selection/loop would look like this

/data/images/artist[@linkid=current()/@id]/entry[position<4]

The above would obviously part of the xsl inside each artist, to match the current artist id.

Thanks @gunglien.