Search

I've been with the Symphony community for a little over 6 years and in that time I've made worldwide friendships and have had the opportunity to work on some truly amazing websites with some very clever people. Symphony is the reason I excelled at creating interesting experiences. Unlike others in the industry, I've never had to worry about my CMS getting in the way of the website. I'm sure many of you will have shared a similar experience.

I started contributing to the codebase in May 2010 and I've learnt a hell of lot since then. It was my first open source project and the community has been wonderful and incredibly grateful and supportive through thick and thin. It's therefore with a touch of sadness that I'd like to say that I'm stepping down from the Core Lead Developer position and taking a bit of a 'open source' holiday.

I've been mulling this over for a few months now and believe some time away from the project is what I need right now to reflect, analyse and figure out what's next. I hope in this time to experiment with new ideas, new technology and above all, learn. I still use Symphony personally and professionally, so I will be around to help and contribute wherever I can!

I'm excited to announce that stepping up will be Nicolas in the Core Lead Developer position. Nicolas and his team use Symphony almost exclusively and have been nicely rewarded with a stack of awards. Nicolas has been an invaluable contributor to the Symphony project both with his code and his insights and discussion. Moving into this role will allow Nicolas to push Symphony forward and continue empowering new developers to create the experiences they dream about.

I hope you will all welcome Nicolas to this position, it's a fantastic opportunity and I'm sure he'll do a stellar job!

I am really sad to see you stepping down, Brendan. I always admired your clear technical evaluation, and I appreciated your patience — and your coding skills — just as much.