Search

Like others I imagine, I'm trying to talk myself either into or out of jumping in with version 2 for current projects. I'm new to Symphony but would love to dive into using it and XSLT for forthcoming projects.

For those who have been up to their elbows in both versions what are you choosing to do?

Is 1.7 still a good choice to develop in with 2.0 around the corner? Particularly with the prospect of wanting to update your templates and content to the newer version eventually.

The additional customizability of 2.0 seems very attractive but are the current bugs or missing core features and lack of extensions making it unwise to use for live sites and client work yet?

Any insight and feedback would be greatly appreciated; currently spinning like a top amidst choices... ;)

Best, Clayton

This is my personal opinion... Symphony 2 is definitely stable enough for a live site. However, I would not recommend it for client work just yet.

I'm using s2 to develop 3 or 4 different sites.

Thanks Lewis. Thanks czheng. That's good to hear.

Lewis, what distinctions do you draw between a live site and a client site?

Your biggest problems are going to be:

1. Stability. Whilst I believe that Symphony 2 is very stable, there are areas that haven't been fully tested. Nothing worse than half way through development finding a bug that prevents you from delivering on time. Or deploying, only to find a bug renders the live site unusable for whatever reason.