Search

I’m still new to XSLT, so I’m curious if I can approach these two things better:

<a>
    <xsl:attribute name="href">
        <xsl:value-of select="$root" />
        <xsl:text>/</xsl:text>
        <xsl:value-of select="$root-page" />
        <xsl:text>/</xsl:text>
        <xsl:value-of select="$year - 1" />
    </xsl:attribute>
    More from last year...
</a>

The best I could come up with is:

<xsl:variable name="previous-year" select="$year - 1" />
<a href="{$root}/{$root-page}/{$previous-year}">More from last year...</a>

Is there a way to do the calculation right inside the href?

One more question:

<xsl:apply-templates select="/data/article-images[entry/article/item/@id=$entry-id]" mode="frontpage"/>

So I have a selectbox link field setup for the article images section, and a DS attached to the page (that has a bunch of articles) that outputs any images that are attached to any of the articles, but to access them I have to use the above to make it work. It seems fine, but it occurs to me there might be a better way of organizing things, be it through the sections, the page, or the DS, or the apply-templates.

Any input would be welcome!

I’m not sure if this is what you’re asking, but you could simply process the calculation within the attribute value template (inside the curly braces):

<a href="{$root}/{$root-page}/{$year - 1}">More from last year...</a>

I tried doing that earlier, but it didn’t work! Now, it magically does, perhaps I had a typo hidden amidst the chaos.

Thanks!

A slightly different way is to use the XSLT string concat() function, which accepts a comma separated list of strings to concatenate:

<a href="{concat($root,'/',$root-page,'/',$year - 1)}">More from last year...</a>

You may have received an error had to tried $year-1 (without spaces) since XSLT would try to find the variable of the name year-1 rather than subtract 1 from the variable year :-)