Search

Hi,

Can someone explain (or give an example) how to create an extension in Symphony 2 that outputs something to the frontend? I can’t seem to figure it out. Any help is great, thank you.

I'm also curious about building out extensions. are the 1.7 docs for the CS api somewhat similar to how extensions are built in s2?

*bump =)

I guess the main problem is that the extension API is not yet finished and accordingly not yet feature complete.

But - indeed - it would be great to know more about the feature set available for extensions at the moment. I have been looking through the code of the published extensions and as I'm not a PHP professional I have to admit that I do not understand the full functionality as is. I quite like the example campfire service available for 1.7 which featured the scope of possibilities. Maybe we can get something similar for Symphony 2?

From what I've gather thus far on extensions is that they are still pretty similar to CSes in 1.7. I think it was alistair that said it's not too difficult to convert a CS to an extension. Like yourself, nils, i am not a php dev, but i have been trying to figure out the similarities and differences to try and modify/create a simple extension. So far, i've only come to understand delegates and how they relate to the extension. but not actual implementation of things.

You can do much more in 2 with extensions than you could with campfire services in 1.7. Much has to do with changes to the core itself. It would be best to have specific questions put forth to better help you, and also shape documentation.

Can someone explain (or give an example) how to create an extension in Symphony 2 that outputs something to the frontend?

What specifically are you trying to do? Creating extensions for the front end is usually as simple as creating an event, data source, or field type, and following the folder structure.