Search

comon problem ?

How to get an encoded email address either from markdown’s auto link or from Nick’s email obfuscator utility into the pagesource as the same encoded strings.

I have tried everything and always end up with an unencoded email or something encoded that is unreadible;

mailto:&#x006d&#x0061&#x0069&#x006c&

also with nicks utility, how do i get the param inside a href? as a variable? while keeping the encodings?

No records found.

Huh?

I still don’t get the point of obfuscating emailadresses…

Either nobody can read them, not even your visitor. Or everyone can read them, even crawlers.

I am having the exact same problem. I love the idea behind Nick’s utility, but I can’t get it to work either.

This is my code:

<xsl:call-template name="obfuscate-email">
    <xsl:with-param name="email">info@mydomain.com</xsl:with-param>
</xsl:call-template>

However, this code spits out ASCII chars only. Illegible to any human reader.

I am quite new to Symphony, so I am probably missing something important.

@phoque: Obfuscating email addresses is a nice way to minimise the amount of spam coming through your website. It is also much more user-friendly than converting email addresses into images or using captchas.

Obfuscating email addresses is a nice way to minimise the amount of spam coming through your website.

Is there actually any proof for that argument? I just don’t find it very convincing… :-)

Just think about it for a moment. Every day gazillions of spam bots crawl the web searching for new email addresses to get hold of. Most of them aren’t built to pick up ascii characters though. This means that your chances of being indexed are far lower.

This doesn’t mean that obfuscating is a panacea. But not obfuscating your email is madness!

Obfuscating email addresses is a nice way to minimise the amount of spam coming through your website.

Is there actually any proof for that argument? I just don’t find it very convincing… :-)