Search

Hey guys. Hope someone can enlighten me.

I'm still new to XSLT, so bare with me.

I currently have a Pages and Sections Section. The Pages are linked to the Sections and each Section and Page can have a body. I have two data sources that provide the Current Page and Current Section.

What this sums up is that I have 2 data sources that eventually only one of the two will have data. In particular, the logic is as follows:

If there is a page defined, then display that. Otherwise, display the section content.

This seemed to work nicely at first and I did the following to solve my varying data source:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
extension-element-prefixes="dyn exslt"
xmlns:exslt="http://exslt.org/common"
xmlns:dyn="http://exslt.org/dynamic">

<xsl:variable name="page" select="$current-page" />
<xsl:variable name="type">
    <xsl:choose>
        <xsl:when test="string-length($page) > 0">
            page
        </xsl:when>
        <xsl:otherwise>current-section</xsl:otherwise>
    </xsl:choose>
</xsl:variable>
<xsl:variable name="entry" select="dyn:evaluate(concat('/data/', $type, '/title/entry'))" />
    <xsl:variable name="content" elect="$entry/body" />

I used EXSLT to evaluate the correct xpath for the right entry.

Here's the problem. There are some pages that I don't care so much about the content that someone puts in the body (field). Say for instance that I would like to print out a list of records. There's no need for a body for that page. Instead the content is going to be generated by XSLT. I realized, though, that there are some parts of the page that look at the $content variable for setting the right element attributes of the page.

For example, I will only display a navigation column if the $content has any headers (h2-4) and if the $content is rather large (at least 1250 characters):