Search

A new Extension, “Field: Address” is now available for download. Comments and feedback can be left here but if you discover any issues, please post it on the issue tracker.

So, this is my first attempt at any sort of Symphony development. So please, be nice. :-)

We needed a way to geocode addresses within Symphony, so I created this address field extension to handle that. The extension will give you the option to geocode (using Google’s geocode API) an address after save. I added a few of other options that might help other people out like making the address field US-only and pre-populating the region field with US state names.

Any suggestions or critiques (I’m new at Symphony) are very welcome. Patches are even better! http://github.com/jeremyboles/symphony-address_field/tree

Address Field Extension

• Version: 0.7 Beta
  • Author: Jeremy Boles (jeremy@jeremyboles.com)
  • Build Date: 8th Oct 2009
  • Requirements: Symphony 2.0.6

This extension is still in very early beta.

Installation

1. Upload the contents of the zip file to a folder named ‘address_field’ inside your Symphony ‘extensions’ folder.

2. Enable it by selecting the Field: Address extension, choose Enable from the with-selected menu, and then click Apply.

3. Go to System > Preferences and enter your Google Map API key.

4. Now add the Address field to your sections.

TODO

• Add/figure out how to add validation to the field as a whole and/or individual inputs
  • Add some connivence Javascript to disable the country field if “Hide the country field” is checked

Screenshots

Shot 1 Shot 2 Shot 3 Shot 4

Nice start and welcome to the community! Is possible to change the state field content?

Great extension!

Where is the github link? :-)

Ah, sorry about that. I edited the post to include the github link. Here it is as well: http://github.com/jeremyboles/symphony-address_field/tree