Search

I’m a newbie to the xslt/xml thing, I love the idea of being so flexible and the layout is quite minimalist. all perfect. I get to looking at these video clips on how to do things such as “create a simple products page” and they are all done in a much earlier version of symphony. in the video it works, and easily. in ver 2.06 errors, compile failures. no work, frustration sets in. I understand I’m new but this system can’t go too far if noobs have such a tough time with it. I love the idea but i’m going nowhere fast. please update the videos, or add some documents to help with this. I want it to work for me I really do.

Glad you’ve decided to give Symphony a try. We certainly understand your frustration, and it’s widely shared. But a new documentation system is in the works. In the meantime, this forum really is the best place to get help, so please do search and browse, and when you’re stuck, just ask for help. We’ll all do our best to help you get going :)

Thanks a lot. I’m making progress, and I’m enjoying the process. It’s just been tough with a lot of the documentation and videos that I’ve seen being for the 1.xx versions. As I’ve noticed a lot has changed in the layout / backend from 1.xx to 2.xx i.e. where things are located and how you attach utilities etc. I’m taking lots of notes and things are starting to come together. I’m hoping that a document for noobs could be created on how to create pages of varying types, step by step perhaps a 3 page site using the initial install (simple stuff) to help get people going. This would be a huge addition to the symphony project allowing people to get comfortable with it’s use. I’m pretty sure this would draw more people to the project and be a huge +. Thanks in advance for the help, I’m going to need it!

http://designprojectx.com has been extremely helpful for me as a relatively new Symphonian. And seriously this forum is very responsive and charitable.