Search

Hello everyone, I’m trying to do an extension field of currency, but I’m still new to the symphony, and do not have much idea how to do.

the idea is to use a floating number field, with settings for currency (prefix i.e. $ or R$) and number format (like “#.###,00”).

The objective of this is show data formatted as currency in publish, as it was desired by the customer. and being numeric field, it is possible to use the field for reflection summations.

example: number (int) * value (float) = total (reflection field, {(number(entry/number) * number(entry/value))} ) and maybe show the ‘total’ result as currency too.

I made some changes in the existing text field, but it is not something I am proud. worked for my particular case, but does not work generic.

if anyone has any ideas, is entirely welcome

the changes I made are:

public function displayPublishPanel(...){
$value = General::sanitize('R$ '.number_format($data['value'], 2, ',', '.'));
(...)
}

and

public function processRawFieldData(...) {
(...)
$result = array(
'value' => trim(str_replace(',','.',str_replace('.',',',str_replace('R$','',$data))))
);
(...)
}

in my case, I use brazilian Real (i.e. R$ 1500,30)

Hello germchaos,

You can start by extending the fieldInput class and just change a few methods. Have a look at field.input.php. In this case you might use money_format function.

I hope that helps.

Hmm, this helped a lot! Ty rainerborene!

Yes definitely look at a few of the existing field type extensions. They’ll get you going…

I would like to do something similar;
Have a currencyfield that automagically converts is value in Euro into other currencies, based on the life rss currency feed from the european central bank.
Now I wonder wether the conversion would best be calculated at php level, or at xslt level. Can the reflection field be actually used for such calculations?