Search

I’m only a web designer and front-end developer, getting to grips with Symphony so I’m not 100% sure if this question carries any weight.. Having looked at a few frameworks, I noticed Ruby on Rails and MovableType like to keep as much of the code as possible outside of the www/public_html. Would there be any advantages of Symphony taking this approach? thanks

I’m sorry I can’t tell you the specifics of how or why.

Does anyone know what would be necessary to do this? I assume it would be a matter of editing index.php, but are there any other parts of the core that would need to be edited?

It’s all about the paths from document root to (as on my server) htdocs or private folders, htdocs being the web accessible one.

I reckon that Symphony would need a large rewrite to get this behaviour, moving all the core files out of the web accessible folder.

Menalto Gallery2 uses this kind of approach to storing images, for security’s sake, but using that method for images requires re-generating them with PHP for web access to said images.

I personally like the idea of the added security, but don’t think it is really necessary for this kind of CMS.

Wonder what the core devs think?

The main advantages of moving sensitive files outside of the webroot is for security. Imagine if your site is exposed to some sort of attack (or just a bug), where Apache doesn’t crash but PHP does. Your server would then serve php files as plain text files, ie. showing the code. A user could request your config.php file which contains database login info.

As far as I can see it is quite easy to do this with Symphony. Here are the steps I took:

My webroot is /var/www.

1. Move Symphony (everything) to a directory outside the webroot, eg /var/www-safe
  2. Link your .htaccess file to /var/www-safe/.htaccess file using ln -s /var/www-safe/.htaccess /var/www/.htaccess
  3. Create a new index.php file in /var/www with the content: <?php chdir('/var/www-safe/'); require 'index.php';