Search

Hi,

I've been poking around with Symphony for a few days. As a learner by doing, i want to make a portfolio site using Symphony.

Btw, i'm not a pro developer, a night-time geek would be more appropriate, so please don't come too hard, if my concerns are too basic :-) It's actually more of a workflow question and i can't come up with how i can accomplish this:

There will be a page which will display movies of works grouped by year. Movie files will be uploaded to the site with ftp, i don't want to use a file upload field since files may be large. In the section for the page, i don't want to input the file's path by hand.

What i want to do is:

-- Create a section called "Works" with fields like 'title', etc.. and a field called 'path'.

-- Upload a file.

-- Go to Publish>Works, input the info for the new uploaded file, 'path' being just the relative folder name (if i uploaded the file under workspace/uploads/projects/project1 'path' will be project1.

-- The works page should get the title, vs... fields from the section inputs. Then get the 'path' value, and output a link whatever file it finds under the related directory with the right extension.

What i tried is:

-- I came up with a php script that would spit out xml from the contents of the directory (workspace/uploads/projects in this case).

--Created a new ds with a Dynamic XML with a URL pointing the php script.

--Linked that ds to the 'Works' section, so that the page xml would include the upload directory content.

This way, i thought, with some xslt, i can output what i want...but it failed because i couldn't find a way to refresh the php script every time a 'work' is published.

So, what should be the correct way to do this? My approach may be totally wrong, so any suggestions are welcome.

Thank you,

You're almost there, two more steps :-)