Search

My colleague Jim has just asked if Symphony comes as an easy install stack like LAMPP or XAMPP, for idiots like himself (his words not mine!)

It got me thinking to how easy it would be to do that. Anybody else think it’s a good idea?? Apparently Ruby on Rails does this very effectively.

Obviously it would only apply to systems that don’t already have LAMPP or XAMPP installed, but would be great for complete noobs who want a good website.

A nice self-contained system stack sounds good, though it’ll be another thing the core team will have to spend time to support. I think given the stuff we’ve got going, it’ll probably not be a feasible reality. We are however looking at a one-click install of a Symphony hosting webspace, so it’ll essentially do the same thing, except it’ll be online and not on a local instance.

Cool can’t wait to see it!

I may have a play with a stack idea, see how feasible it is ;)

how about an entire virtualbox image?

What about a full AMP stack, built into a custom disk image, instantiated on a dynamically-generated physical server rack that appears magically in your bedroom and is maintained by your very own Symphony team, cloned on-the-fly using our new JIT Genetic Manipulation extension?!?!

Hehe, sorry, it’s Saturday ;)

What about a full AMP stack, built into a custom disk image, instantiated on a dynamically-generated physical server rack that appears magically in your bedroom and is maintained by your very own Symphony team, cloned on-the-fly using our new JIT Genetic Manipulation extension?!?!

Yes, that’s about exactly what I’m looking for. How much would that cost?

I think such a stack would be necessary if your software was running on a very special server(-configuration). This is not the case. 90% of all hosts should support Symphony and you shouldn’t maintain a production server if you have no idea what you’re doing.