Search

I’m sorry in advance if a similar thread is already present, though I’ve searched 6 pages of this section and didn’t find anything, so here it is.

I’m new to XSLT and as far as I can tell XSLT and html entities (i.e. ‘ ’, ‘<’, ‘≤’) don’t play nice.

So, I’m wondering, how can I fix that? I know XSLT accepts entities when accessed by their respective number in a charset (xx;), so I though I could do an search-replace prior to outputing data, but may be there is a better way?

At the moment I’ve fixed the issue in CKEditor. formatter.ckeditor.php

As far as I know only the characaters <, > and & need to be written as an entity. Other characters such as é, ï, ♫, →, ¶, ©, etc… can be used in the normal way if your encoding is UTF-8.

Correct me if I’m wrong!

I’ve had sooooo many issues with character encoding and entities with XML recently. Character encoding is definitely the black arts of the modern day.

I think, however, that it may have been more down to the outputting system and the ingestion system that had the issues. I reckon you’re right @kanduvisla, although I would always prefer to use entities myself in XML ‘just in case’…

I also used to ‘entity’ my special characters in previous CMS-es / template engines I used, so é would become &-eacute;, but since XSLT throws an error when you use &-eacute; I figured that it would ‘entity’ itself automaticly or it would output the correct header information to your browser (which I believe is the case right now).

I had a (not so) funny issue lately when a client of mine used HTML pages generated by Symphony to use as a newsletter (copy-paste the HTML to the newsletter sort of speak). But since the HTML was UTF-8, most e-mail cliënts which have other encoding (ISO-8859-1 for example), they would see question marks or wrong characters where the entities should be.

I had a (not so) funny issue lately when a client of mine used HTML pages generated by Symphony to use as a newsletter