Search

Hi there, I’m pretty new to symphony but loving it so far! I’m trying to create a way for users to create unique title tag each page they edit.

I can get this working absolutely fine…. but I want a ‘default’ page title to show if the user doesn’t enter a custom one. I’m calling the template below into the

This is what i have right now - no matter what I do I always get the ‘default’ template (which is $website-name | $page-title) displaying even when the meta-title string is populated.

What i’m trying to do is test to see if the string is NOT empty and then display the custom meta-title. I’ve tried this the other way around (ie testing to see if this is empty) and got the same result.

<xsl:template name="page-title">
    <xsl:for-each select="data/pages/entry[page=$current-page]">
    <xsl:choose>
      <xsl:when test="string-length(data/pages/entry/meta-title) &gt; 0">
      <xsl:value-of select="meta-title"/>
      </xsl:when>
        <xsl:otherwise>
        <xsl:value-of select="$website-name"/>
    <xsl:text> &#8212; </xsl:text>
    <xsl:value-of select="$page-title"/>
      </xsl:otherwise>
      </xsl:choose>
       </xsl:for-each>
</xsl:template>

Any ideas would be much appreciated. It’s obviously partially working but not returning the right result from the test (which is no doubt due to my noob XSLT skills.

Thanks.

You need to post a sample of your xml.

Hi Tim,

try changing the template to

<xsl:for-each select="/data/pages/entry[page=$current-page]">
            <xsl:when test="meta-title">
                <xsl:value-of select="meta-title"/>
                <xsl:text> &#8212; </text>
    </xsl:for-each>

I prepended a / to the select of the for-each (just to be sure to start from the root) and changed the condition of your test. In a for-each you are always working in the context of the current element (/data/pages/entry) in this case.