Search

Hey everyone, I'm trying to work on my site locally (like you should) however I can never seem to load anything but the home page, here is an example: If I load http://localhost/~tukaiz/stephen-korecky/ it runs the home page just fine, however if I want to go to my about page i.e. http://localhost/~tukaiz/stephen-korecky/about or (/about/) it does not load the pages and I just my page not found.

Am I just calling up the page wrong? My config file is set for that directory and mod_rewrite is on in my httpd.conf file so not sure what else it could be. Any help would be very appreciated!

p.s. I'm on a Mac

I had a similar problem with my localhost setup. For some reason rewrite wasn't working correctly at first. What's your environment? Did you use MAMP? MacPorts?

I'm on leopard so I run Apache (With web sharing in system preferences) and PHP with the built in versions, and I downloaded MySQL. But I could try MAMP or MacPorts if you recommend it.

Well I'm not a Mac expert, so take this with a grain of salt, but here's what happened to me:

I installed MAMP, and ended up with a problem very similar to yours. Though everything was installed and enabled, my rewrites just weren't working. So I uninstalled MAMP, uninstalled the default OS X version of Apache, and turned off web sharing. Then I installed the whole stack via MacPorts and now everything works perfectly.

huh, not sure if I can take such a big step since I have a lot going on this apache, but if all else fails I will try this, thanks for your help though!

I followed the steps in http://blog.jameshiggs.com/2007/12/25/getting-wordpress-mod_rewrite-and-leopard-to-work-together/ and this got htaccess to work, however now I need to figure out the .htaccess files since now all I get are 403 error pages.

Here is my htaccess code, if someone finds something wrong, could you please help me out?

### Symphony 2.0 - Do not edit ###

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on