Search

Hi,

I am new to symphony and would like to embed video/audio files into the web page. The web site needs to be supported across different browsers and devices like iphone/ipad. The vimeo/you tube url embed is not the one I have been looking for.

What are the various options available to embed video/audio file in symphony?

I could find the option of using html5 xslt master sheet to embed files. But in browsers where html5 is not supported, how could this problem be resolved?

Is there any extension available for including the jquery plugin into the symphony cms? I would like to use Jquery Media Element. (ref - http://plugins.jquery.com/project/mediaelement )

@Girija - Would you mind posting your XML?

For video via YouTube or Vimeo, the Video Embed Utility should work for you. Since the utility is using the latest YouTube and Vimeo players, it works with iPod Touch/iPhone/iPad.

BZ

Hi,

I am in phase of finalizing an option and haven't started to build as such. I have been looking out for options available.

@Girlja

I’m not sure how much you know about symphony/jquery so sorry if some of this is really obvious.

It’s really easy to get jquery (and plugins) working with Symphony but there isn’t an extension to do this as it isn’t really necessary.

The easiest way is to simply include a link to JQuery (either the local version Symphony has installed or a hosted version like Google or Microsoft) in your master stylesheet either inside <head></head> or in right before the </body> tag.

ie: <script type=”text/javascript” src=”https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.5.0/jquery.min.js”> </script>`

Then if you wanted to use a plugin like Media Element you could create a folder in your Workspace folder called ‘scripts’, upload Media Element into it and link to it in your master stylesheet right after the link to the JQuery library above.

ie something like: