Search

So, I'm new to Symphony. I love (LOVE) the free form structuring of the content and am finding it really addicting to have this sort of control. So, I'm pretty excited, but on to my question...

I'm setting up a simple blog. I would like for each post to have a publish date and an optional expiration date and I have my section data structure set up that way.

I have set up my data source right now, so that it filters and only returns entries that have a publish date earlier than the current date and time. I am having trouble, though, trying to set up the filter for the expiration date.

The difficultly is that I need for it to match an empty expiration date field (it's optional) OR a date that is still in the future.

I've tried:

later than {$today} {$current-time}

This works, but won't return true for empty expiration date fields.

later than {$today} {$current-time},

I added the comma to see if it would match the date range OR nothing, but this doesn't return anything.

I've tried adding a space, "none", "empty"... etc and not found anything that works.

Anyone able to help me out? Thanks...

I've faced the similar trouble. Having two fields 'audio' and 'video' in section i'd like to filter by empty field (say user entered only audio link or only video). i've tried everything, but nothing helps :-(

Have you tried

later than {$today} {$current-time}, ''

or

later than {$today} {$current-time}, null

I've tried both of those to no avail.

Oh, and the other thing I thought I would try to get around the issue, is have a default value for the expiration date field be 0000-00-00 00:00 (or something) then test against that, but I have also not figured out how to have a default value on a date field other than the current time, which doesn't work.

...frustrating.