Search

I apologize before-hand if this is simple, or maybe asked/answered somewhere already.. I've never worked this deep in Symphony before, and I can't seem to find a solution.

I'll try and explain a little better.. Basically, I'm creating something similar to a discussion forum, using the new members extension.. I have a section for comments with a select box link field to reference the member who posted the comment..

I can't seem to get the select box link to include more than just the username. I'd like it to also pull the email address/hash (so I can use gravatar), and I have an optional "avatar" file field that I'd like to associate with as well.. Having them all grouped inside my created-by xml.

I figured that I just had to highlight all the fields I want in the select box link field, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

Is there a way to do this at all? Does it make more sense to create a separate select box link for each field I want pulled in, or is there some other preferred solution to what I'm shooting for here?

Thanks ahead of time.

in the past, i've always had to create a minimal datasource with all of the users in order to cross-reference the select box link's id with the user's id in the user datasource.

if there were an easier way, i would also love to hear about it.

The data shown in the XML is the field that populates the dropdown in the backend. To get more data you should use "data source chaining". Select the SBL field in the Parameter Output settings in your existing data source. This will add the IDs of the related entries into the param pool. Now create a second data source filtering from the section that populates the SBL, and filter the System ID by this new parameter. You'll then be able to cross reference the entries in XSLT.

Alright, I definitely follow, but I'm still a little unsure on how to use the data I have now. My initial ds contains the following xml (snipped):

<discussions-comments>