Search

Hi Guys, I'm quite new to XSLT but I was wondering about emulating some Wordpress shorttag functionality.

Given a Page-Content Section with a body (textfield, formatted) would it be possible to pick up e.g. <h2>[video]</h2> and replace that with e.g. a YouTube embedding code?

(I'm not interested in the video embedding, simply the shorttag XSLR functionality :) )

In my mind this should be fairly easy but I have not yet succeeded…

I can match the node like this:

<xsl:apply-templates select="/data/page-content/entry[1]/body/h2[.= '[video]']"/>

In combination with:

<xsl:template match="/data/page-content/entry[1]/body/h2[.= '[video]']"> <div style="border: 2px solid red"><xsl:text>VIDEO STUFFZ!</xsl:text></div></xsl:template>

BUT (obviously) the markup is generated at the location of my apply-templates element. I would like to replace my <h2>[video]</h2> with my new content.

I am thinking Ninja-Technique but I can't quite figure this out. How do I replace my <h2>[video]</h2> content with something else?

Start by using the ninja technique. Add a template match to find the element you want to replace, like the Image Formatter utility. Perhaps you want something like:

<xsl:template match="h2[text()='[video]']" mode="html" priority="1">
    <!-- embed video here rather than building an <h2> element -->
</xsl:template>

I'm not sure i understood correctly, but doesn't your template already replace content as you wanted?

You can make it a bit more generic, like this:

<xsl:template match="h2[.='[video]'">
   <div style="border: 2px solid red"><xsl:text>VIDEO STUFFZ!</xsl:text></div>
</xsl:template>

Then just call:

<xsl:apply-templates select="/data/page-content/entry[1]/body/*"/>

We're doing something similar in project i'm working on right now. But we're using Templated Text Formatters to make formatted content include some special tags/classes/URIs, and then render them however we want in XSLT :).

nickdunn was quicker :).