Search

Hello All,

In fact I am just saying hello to the community. I'm a web/multimedia developer at an advertising agency in the Netherlands. I have mainly worked with ExpressionEngine and CodeIgniter to build small to large web projects and have always enjoyed the flexibility of the system. Nevertheless I have always be on the lookout for good alternatives and Symphony looks real good so far.

I have been following some tutorials now (just for a couple of hours really :D). But I think I will proceed and maybe actually start using the CMS when I'm ready.

There are some new concepts I need to learn like xslt, but I think it won't be to much of a problem. I hope Symphony proves to be just as flexible or maybe even more flexible than EE is.

Anyway, thanks for reading and you will probably see me asking stupid questions every now and then...

Are there more EE users around?

Yes and no. There are some people 'round here who have been working with EE formerly. But in my case: I don't remember very much of EE.

Hi Dion,

Great to see another Dutchie starting to look into Symphony!

I've had a little experience with EE but Symphony has been a breath of fresh air. This not in the least because of the awesome Symphony community. There are some similarities between EE and Symphony but what, to me, makes the biggest difference (apart from the community) are the 'principles', or the 'Tao': these really resonate with what I am looking for in a CMS.

Symphony seems to have hit a sweet spot between framework and CMS: allowing us the flexibility to build about anything you can think of but, at the same time, creating just the right user-friendly environment geared towards 'getting started quickly'.

Anyway, welcome and do not hesitate to ask if you run into issues. The learning curve can be a tiny bit steep at first and these Forum Posts (though helpful) are still a bit difficult to search (this will be addressed!).