Search

Greetings Symphonists, a newbie here :-)

First, a big THANK YOU to the Team for putting together this awesome CMS.

I am in process of building my first Symphony based project and in need of featuring a slideshow on each section opening page. For that purpose, I am using the commercial edition of Slidedeck, which allows for both linear and vertical navigation between slides (I specifically need that feature).

Now, I am trying to create XSL template that will automate generation of HTML required to output both horizontal and vertical slides. To realise that, I started with creation of a new Symphony section 'slides' with the following fields: 1) slide-deck (specifies to which slideshow a given slide belongs); 2) slide-type (horizontal or vertical); 3) slide-order (position in slideshow); 4) slide-title (text); 5) slide-content (text); and slide-bg-image (name of background image).

Since each slide is represented by 'data/slides/entry', I employ 'xsl:for-each' to generate output for each record in the DB.

To include only the slides that belong to a given 'deck', I use

<xsl:if test="slidedeck/item = 'Slidedeck Name'>

Since the structure of Slidedeck code is beautifully straightforward

<dt><xsl:value-of select="slide-title"/></dt>

will output the title of every slide, horizontal or vertical, regardless. So far, so good.

Now, the HTML code unique for horizontal and vertical slides, respectively, sits between the 'dd' tags. First off, I thought of using this construct:

<xsl:choose>
<xsl:when test="slide-type/item = 'Horizontal'">
<p><xsl:value-of select="slide-content"/></p>
</xsl:when>
<xsl:otherwise>
<ul class="slidesVertical">
<li><p><xsl:value-of select="slide-content"/></p></li>
</ul>
</xsl:otherwise>
</xsl:choose>