Search

Hi guys,

I've been using Symphony for a few months now on a number of my own projects and quite comfortable with it.

I recently started contract work at an agency who are planning on using Symphony for an upcoming redesign for one of their clients.

They use SVN for their version control and a shared DB for local development

The problem we're facing is say 1 developer adds a new section/ds/page etc, as I understand it this can sometimes create an xsl file, but also modify the database.

This will then throw up an error for the other developers as they have the shared DB info but the relevant xsl files have not been committed / updated yet.

I know a few of you work in agencies doing symphony development, is there a way around this? Do we need local dbs and some way to migrate this?

What's the most effective workflow to work as a team on Symphony?

Thanks,

Mark

The problem we're facing is say 1 developer adds a new section/ds/page etc, as I understand it this can sometimes create an xsl file, but also modify the database.

The below are things that happen when you perform different actions in Symphony:

• When you create a section, several tables are created in the DB (one table for each field created) and a couple of tables are updated (section info, field references, etc.) No files are created with this action.
  • When you create a data source, a php script is created under /workspace/data-sources. No changes are performed in the DB.
  • When you create an event, a php script is created under /workspace/events/. No changes are performed in the DB.
  • When you create a page, an XSLT file is created under /workspace/pages/. A new row for page settings is added under the pages table in the DB.
  • When you create a XLST utility, a file is created under /workspace/utilities/. No changes are performed on the DB.