Search

Hi guys, I've just signed up as am very interested in getting to know more about Symphony. The documentation and backend are incredibly nicely laid-out and many people have great things to say about how flexible the system is.

I was wondering, coming from a PHP CMS background, what the advantages and differences would be when using a XML based system? The language is completely new to me and am quite interested in learning it.

First silly question: Is it worth learning? Or do most Symphony users already come from an XML background? Or do many learn the language in order to use this system?

The main CMS that I use is Processwire which is an incredibly powerful system built in PHP and started looking around at alternatives as I'm no developer and was looking for an alternative system that had a few more user contributed modules/extensions.

It is however a non-markup system like Symphony so in that respect, switching between the two oughtn't be too tough!

Anyway, thanks for your thoughts in advance.

Welcome André :-)

First up, Symphony is most definitely a PHP CMS. Its core is written with PHP and all of its data is stored in MySQL. However it uses XSLT for the templating layer, so instead of creating .php or .phtml or whatever you might do otherwise, each page is a .xsl file. When a page of your site is requested, Symphony gets the data from MySQL, creates an XML document, and your XSLT transforms this into HTML (or CSV, or XML/RSS/Atom, or JSON or whatever the desired output is).

XSLT is something you either love or hate. Those who love it tend to stick around!

I'd used XML a lot before using Symphony (chomping RSS feeds and so on) but had never tried XSLT. It's a steep learning curve as it's quite a different concept comapred with embedding PHP into your HTML, but very rewarding.

XSLT is something you either love or hate. Those who love it tend to stick around!

Uhh, +1 :) My brain simply isn't wired at generating HTML with PHP. XSLT feels natural.