Search

Hello all, I downloaded, installed and have been playing enthusiastically with Symphony since yesterday. I am a complete virgin when it comes to XSLT, but I know it is what I need in order to keep my content nicely separated from markup, and nimble enough to write once, publish everywhere.

So, hi — how are you? I am a UX designer with big interest in content strategy, and Symphony is going to be the tool I need in my life to make my content awesome online. But, I have a question, as you know from the topic heading.

I have been playing around with XSLT today in Symphony CMS and I can see very clearly how HTML is output from XML using the transforms. That is great. What I can’t wrap my head around is how, if you have acronyms defined in their own section of XML, they can then be inlined when output for HTML? Lets say we have a content summary for a topic. The summary copy will be extracted from an XML node, and transformed via XSLT into HTML by spitting it out of the node. For web accessibility and good markup purposes, I need to wrap an abbreviation like the following example:

<abbr title="World Wildlife Fund">WWF</abbr>

which will likely occur mid sentence in the content that is being spat out. Is it possible with regular expressions, or otherwise, to target certain strings of text and apply the correct abbreviations, acronyms and other inline HTML elements to these strings?

Say hello to the Ninja Technique my friend, coupled with some XPath string functions. There may also be a benefit to using EXSLT's replace() here too

Thanks Lewis, this looks like it will be able to provide what I am looking for, but the article does make some assumptions that the reader will know how to piece these components together. I have an XML document called terminology.xml, residing in /workspace/library/ which looks like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<terminology>
    <abbreviations>
        <term abbr="Extensible Markup Language">XML</term>