Search

Hi,

I'm new to Symphony. In fact, I have encountered this issue wile following the "Hello World" tutorial to understand how it works :)

In the third step of the tutorial, when I tried creating a new data source, Symphony returned me a blank page. Checked the log and found the error:

66.999.999.999|Sat 28 Jul 2012 17:01:13 +0300|/path/to/symphony-root/index.php|PHP message: PHP Fatal error: Call-time pass-by-reference has been removed in /path/to/symphony-root/symphony/content/content.blueprintsdatasources.php on line 839

After a quick search through the forum, found out that it is related to PHP 5.4 and I need to remove the ampersands on function calls. So, I've changed the line 839 from;

call_user_func(array($providerClass, 'buildEditor'), $this->Form, &$this->_errors, $fields, $handle);

to

call_user_func(array($providerClass, 'buildEditor'), $this->Form, $this->_errors, $fields, $handle);

After this change, error re-occurred on line 1040. I've also fixed it from;

call_user_func(array($providerClass, 'validate'), &$fields, &$this->_errors);

to

call_user_func(array($providerClass, 'validate'), $fields, $this->_errors);

Symphony seems to work normally after these changes, but I'm not a programmer and I'm in doubt that my changes can count as fixes :)

Just wanted to let you know the issue.

They can count as fixes, and we will be adding those exact fixes and more to the core soon. There's just too much on the plate already right now.

PHP 5.4 support will come very soon...

PHP 5.4 support will come very soon...

Although it seem to work perfectly, can't say that I have discovered all of the features :) Would love to see that.

Thanks.

This error originates from using call_user_func because PHP 5.2 does not support late static binding, which is available in PHP 5.3. Prior to PHP 5.4, one could pass call_user_func params by reference, but now doing so throws a warning in PHP 5.4 (which is what you are seeing).