Search

Hello, I am new to Symphony and so far I am loving it. However I have come across an issue that I'm not sure how to solve.

I have created a site where the user can add items such as news and articles, as well as edit pages. On completion of the site our client wanted to add an extra feature - drafts. They must have all website changes approved before they are made live on the front end of the site. This was not a problem for the news items and articles as I have simply created a 'publish' checkbox and only put the content live when the checkbox is ticked. Therefore the user can add content in the control panel, the auditor can login with their details, check the content and set it to live.

However I can't work out the best way to create a draft page. The site has say for example 5 pages that should be live all of the time, our user comes along and wishes to add to or edit the content of a page that is already there. They need to be able to add this new content - save it as a draft so that it isn't live straight away yet the auditor can view it when they log in. When the auditor approves the content the user then needs to put the draft page live and remove the original.

I did try the versioning extension, which is great, but it makes the new version live straight away and keeps the old page as a version. Which I can understand, but it's not right for my needs. I did try altering this and will continue but I've been going around in circles!

If anyone has a solution or some ideas to throw into the mix I would be grateful or even a work around to the versioning extension to swap it so that the new version is saved as a draft until approved.

Thank you for your help in advance!

Hi Judith, have you checked out the Symphony default theme? It has a "drafts page" that only the administrator can see, with a button that allow a post to be "published". Is that what you're looking for?