Search

I have been designing websites using Symphony for the last 6 years, I love the system, I like its flexibility, I love its clarity. Nevertheless I have been thinking about this a lot recently:

What is Symphony about?
What is it for?
Why should a client us it?

Here in Germany, companies still tend to use other systems. Either old fashioned ones (my opinion) like Typo3 or more decent ones like Drupal. One problem is that clients almost never heard about Symphony before. Another problem is that it's hard to explain to clients what Symphony is about: it can be anything, it's flexible – fine. But if it's about everything, it's not focussed, it's about nothing. There is no story behind it.

There once was a story, a story that convinced me to try the system years ago: it was about content aggregation (fetching RSS/XML feeds from other services), web standards (XML/XSLT) and it was about simplicity (UI). But things have changed: many XML feeds have been replaced by JSON, web standard advocates simply ignore XSLT and other systems have done their job: cleaning up their interfaces, simplifying their user experiences.

This is what we say on the front page of this site:

XSLT-powered open source content management system

Elegant
Approaches content management with the underlying goals of simplicity and openness, so you can build anything.

Flexible
Gives designers and developers complete control over data structures, URL schemas, and every bit of markup.

Powerful
Puts the Web's most exciting APIs at your fingertips with an easy-to-use, XML-centric data engine.

Extensible
Provides a lean, flexible core complemented by a rapidly growing extensions library.

Neither does this sound sexy nor does it sound special (beyond the fact that Symphony is XML/XSL based).

What is Symphony's story today?
Why do we need it?
Why do clients need it?

These are serious questions – I think we need to work on this.